Ulpan and Google Surprise

naomishemer-google

Before talking about class today, I thought I would share a surprising find on Google homepage today, a custom logo in celebration of what would have been the eightieth birthday of Israeli singer, Naomi Shemer.

She is best remembered for her song, “Yerushalayim Shel Zahav” (Jerusalem of Gold) which she composed in 1967 just before the Six Day War between Israel and neighboring Arab states. Check out a particularly chilling rendition here sung by Shuli Natan. I’m not sure how long it will be up, so check it out while it lasts… or just enjoy the image copied above.

Ulpan today was not terribly eventful. We spent a lot of time reviewing smichoot (noun construct) and adjective combinations, and then we looked at the definition and appropriate usage of several verbs with similar meanings in terms of relaying information: L’daber, Lomar, and L’hagid. We then reviewed numbers from zero to a million (no kidding), their masculine and feminine forms, and how to appropriately use them with singular and plural nouns. In the final stretch of class, we read over a text excerpted from the autobiography of an Israeli author growing up in a highly assimilated family in Germany in the 1930s.

The afternoon and evening have been fairly quiet, mostly spent doing laundry, homework, and studying. We have yet another test coming up on Thursday so I’m gearing up for that as well. The learning continues. No grand plans tomorrow but I’ll keep you all posted. I promise more interesting research related work will be up in the near future once ulpan has reached its end… Only two more weeks.🙂

3 Responses to Ulpan and Google Surprise

  1. Danny says:

    Hi there,
    I was also puzzled and pleased with Google posting Naomi Shemer – related logo. After all, Google is about cosmopolitism and culture (sometimes). Anyways, very nice and friendly blog you got yourself, I just flashed over it (wish I had more time, maybe sometime later). Good luck with your Hebrew studies, welcome to Jerusalem I hope you’ll stay here for good. I live here for 11 years now (came to Israel 20 years ago from Almaty, Kazakhstan), wouldn’t change it for anything on Earth. Hebrew is tough sometimes, but much fun when you master it a bit more. No patronizing here, I reckon I went through this experience too. If you need anything in Jerusalem, just email me.
    Good luck

  2. arielzellman says:

    Hi Danny, thanks for reading! Please stop by anytime.

  3. Jane says:

    I think the Google Naomi Shemer-related logo is only up on the Hebrew language search site. I just tried to open it and, sadly, it’s not there.😦

    Good luck with the rest of ulpan!

Leave a Reply

