Fulbright IIE Round One

fulbright After seven or so drafts and many many hours of work, I have finally submitted my Fulbright IIE grant application in time for Northwestern’s internal deadline: yesterday. Now my application will be reviewed by internal committees for further comment and criticism so I can rewrite it another six times before the national deadline. The process is a bit exhausting, but incredibly helpful.

A huge thank you to my recommenders, Will Reno, Hendrik Spruyt, and Ed Gibson, for your timely letters, and to Edna Grad for her Hebrew language evaluation. Also to my Fulbright Faculty Advisor, Yohanan Ptrovsky-Shtern for his insightful thoughts on my application essays as well as to Steve Hill and Brad Zakarin for their input and help with the application process.

I am also happy to report that both Bar Ilan University in Ramat Gan and Hebrew University in Jerusalem have agreed to serve as my affiliate institutions in the 2010-2011 academic year, assuming I receive the Fulbright. Thank you to professors Jonathan Fox and Dan Miodownik for your incredibly quick turn around on my required letters.

Because the grant is still “in production,” I am not going to post either my Statement of Proposed Research or Personal Statement for reader review just yet. However, if you are dying to take a look at it, let me know and I can send them to you by e-mail. Wish me luck. I need it!

Leave a Reply

