Leaving Soon for Belgrade

In about a week and a half, I will be departing for Belgrade, Serbia to conduct six weeks of research in the field. While there, I will be regularly updating this site to fill you all in on my travels.  Hopefully, I will have lots of interesting things to report.

Aside from scholarly work on conflict in the Balkans, I have picked up two highly recommended guidebooks as airplane reading: Best of Belgrade, a Lonely Planet guide, and the Serbia Bradt Travel Guide. I have yet to find a good Serbian-English phrasebook so if you have any suggestions, please fire them my way.

In other news, I am happy to report that I successfully defended my dissertation prospectus last week, and can now officially be considered ABD. If you are interested in reading the prospectus, let me know and I will email it to you. Classes are also officially out for the summer and all my grading is done.  Now I am visiting my folks in Spokane and enjoying sunny, cloudless 70 F weather. Don’t you wish you were here?

WordPress Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to Leaving Soon for Belgrade

  1. “Hopefully, I will have lots of interesting things to report.” For sure, yes.

    I would recommend this site for learning some words in Serbian. You could also ask the owner of the site, Marina Petrovic, who will recommend you the best Serbian-English phrasebook.

    http://learnserbian.blogspot.com/

  2. arielzellman says:

    This site is great Karl, thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

