Recent News and Upcoming Reviews

I recently returned from the International Studies Association’s 50th Annual Conference in New York City and am thrilled to report that the conference went very well.  My paper was very positively received and I received excellent useful feedback from my discussant.  I was also delighted to see a number of old friends and professors from my previous graduate institution, the University of British Columbia,  and to make many many more new friends and contacts throughout the academic community.

Now that I’m back in Chicago, it is time to get back to work on my thesis prospectus which I hope to be defending in March.  I will also be working on a few reviews of books I have recently finished reading including Nationalism and Territory: Constructing Group Identity in Southeastern Europe by George White and Where Nation-States Come From: Institutional Change in the Age of Nationalism by Philip Roeder.

where-nation-states-come-fromI also won a book raffle from the University of Pennsylvania Press which means they’ll be sending me one free book from their collection that was on display at ISA.  I picked out Anderson and Stansfield’s Crisis in Kirkuk: The Ethnopolitics of Conflict and Compromise (National and Ethnic Conflict in the 21st Century).  From what little I know of the historical importance the Kurds ascribe to this city, it seems that ethnic attachments to this city could be very relevant to my research.  Keep your eyes peeled for a review of this book in the coming months.

Back to work…

One Response to Recent News and Upcoming Reviews

  1. […] Thank You Lynne Rienner Publishers The ticket drawing fairies have been very kind to me this year.  I just got a call from Lynne Rienner Publishers to inform me that I won their book raffle at ISA entitling me to $60 worth of books from their catalogue.  I think I’m on a roll! […]

Leave a Reply

