When it Rains, it Pours

There has been so much to write in world events over the past few days, it’s a bit overwhelming.  Elections in Pakistan have essentially thrown President Musharraf’s party out of power, Fidel Castro has handed over the reigns of Cuba to his brother Raul, Armenia is going to the polls to elect a new president with possible repercussions for Nagorno-Karabakh, and most importantly for my research, Kosovo has unilaterally declared independence from Serbia.

kosovo-declares-independence serbs-protest-kosovo-independence

I have also recently finished reading Mark Mueller’s The Remnants of War, one prominent Quaker political scientist’s take on the decline of major warfare in the Twentieth Century.  With sticky notes attached to just about every page, the book is definitely in need of a review if only for my own peace of mind.

Last but certainly not least, I am still working on my second year paper due in near final form at the end of March.  As part of that exercise, I am trying to complete a concept mapping paper for my qualitative methods class taught by Jim Mahoney.  My concept of choice: ethnohistorical territoriality.  What does that mean?  I’ll post some version of the paper with the answer soon. 

So why the slow progress?  I had my first real encounter with the Chicago winter last week Tuesday when walking to campus.  Ice was everywhere and after several times stumbling, I finally took one big spill.  A nice couple found me writhing in pain on the street and drove me over to the university.  Long story short, it turns out I broke my left arm, more specifically a non-displaced fracture of the radial head. 

It’s not a bad enough break to require a cast but it does mean that I’ve had to keep my arm in a sling almost full time until yesterday.  Needless to say, my academic work has slowed to a crawl while I wait for the pain and swelling to go down.  Clearly I’ve made some progress; I’m typing this with both hands but it hurts like hell.  Hopefully things will be back to relative normalcy soon!

Leave a Reply

